Pizza Meatloaf -- TNT!!

FryBoy

I love meatloaf. Always have -- my mother made a good version, albeit pretty basic. My wife loves it, too, and we make several different versions over the course of a year, some beef, some turkey, some force meat. This one, however is a family favorite and considered to be comfort food in our home.

This recipe for "Pizza Meatloaf" is from an unlikely source, the La Leche League Cookbook, entitled "Mothers in the Kitchen," published in 1971. Being children of the 60s (I graduated from college in 1968, my wife in 1971, and yes, I do remember some of the 60s), we of course went to breast-feeding classes put on by the LLL when Sue got pregnant in the fall of 1971. Our wonderful daughter, Stephanie was born in July 1972 (she's now a lawyer -- where did we go wrong?). Thus the cookbook.

The recipe is nothing spectacular, but like everything in the book, it's good and obviously very healthful (no, it doesn't include human milk). It became a family favorite because when she was a child, Stephanie would actually eat it, and we've enjoyed it now and then ever since. Even our grandkids like it. Sue had foot surgery on Friday and wanted some comfort food tonight, so she chose this. It's really quite tasty and very easy to make.

Here's the recipe, with some photos below. It's unchanged from the original -- except my directions are a little clearer:

PIZZA MEATLOAF

1½ pounds lean ground beef
1 small onion, finely diced
¾ cup oatmeal
¼ cup wheat germ
1 egg, lightly beaten
½ cup catsup
1 tablespoon Worcestershire Sauce
1 teaspoon salt
1 to 2 teaspoons oregano
¼ to ½ teaspoon crushed red pepper
6 ounces grated or sliced mozzarella cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Grease 9” x 5” x 2¾” loaf pan.

3. Mix together all ingredients EXCEPT cheese; beat egg first, then add catsup and Worcestershire,
then mix in salt and spices, then add dry ingredients and mix well to combine;
add meat last, and mix with finger until well combined).