Burn Out

SilverSage

Resident Crone
What do y'all do when you're just totally burned out from cooking. I don't think I've cooked more than a small handful of meals in the last 2 or 3 months. Mostly, when I'm done working for the day, we just go out. I really just don't want to cook anymore.

I've been cooking and feeding people for 60 years and I'm tired of it! How do you get your mojo back when you feel this way???

QSis

Grill Master
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
What do y'all do when you're just totally burned out from cooking. I don't think I've cooked more than a small handful of meals in the last 2 or 3 months. Mostly, when I'm done working for the day, we just go out. I really just don't want to cook anymore.

I've been cooking and feeding people for 60 years and I'm tired of it! How do you get your mojo back when you feel this way???

Do you WANT to get your mojo back? Or are you fine with just allowing yourself to enjoy retiring your tongs except for those occasions when the spirit moves you?

Lee

SilverSage

Resident Crone
It's getting expensive.
I want to retire, but my restaurant credit card bills are getting obscene. I can't keep this up if I move to a fixed income.
Plus, I'm running out of interesting restaurants.

ChowderMan

Pizza Chef
Super Site Supporter
well, costs aside....
"Plus, I'm running out of interesting restaurants."
is a very very serious issue....

now and then I 'burn out' - I resort to simple, easy, no-brainer prep meals. nothing fancy, nothing exotic, no sauces, no thirty ingredient dishes . . . a one step +/- to "soup and an sandwich" type stuff. oh-oh . . . did tomato-rice soup and grilled cheese last week . . .

I intentionally plan about one dinner a month "out" - at a decent place. we're in an absolute desert of "high end" restos - so it's always a toss up between "diner food" and "sorta' better"

QSis

Grill Master
Staff member
Gold Site Supporter
Well, cooking is a lot more fun when I'm not trying to lose weight!