Suggestions for a Sugar art piece?

smoke king

Banned
DW is encouraging, no, make that pushing me with extreme prejudice, to enter something in our County fairs Sugar Art show. I've never done this competitively before, so I'm not sure what to expect-anyone ever enter into these things? I'm pretty sure that there are no World Class pastry chefs in Douglas County Nebraska, but I'm willing to bet there are some old ladies with mad skills!!

The Theme for the competition is "Home for the holidays 2009" and the first thing that popped into my head was the Griswolds (Christmas Vacation) but I'm not sure how that would translate into a cake (did I mention I was going to do a cake?), so again, I'm wide open to suggestions.

Adillo303

Gold Site Supporter
Since you have a strong interest in music, how about a cake in the shape of a guitar kind o decorated for the holidays (holly, bows, lights & stuff) and maybe a few musical notes in the frosting someplace a few words of lyrics and for extra credit hollow out the cake and put a music box playing a Christmas carol inside.

Too much?

Ho Bob - how you been? I'm just thinking or when you blew the church ladies away with the cookies and how you can one up it.

smoke king

Banned
I think the rules listed are pretty much standard-at least I think that they are. One thing that kind of threw me was that they differentiated between "American" and "Foreign" (?) decorating-probably going to have to research that a bit.

I figured that I would start with one of those foam cake blanks-it said those are fine as long as the cake can be replicated as a real cake. I don't have the artistic touch that the pros have (with all the gumpaste and modeling chocolate etc), but I'm pretty well versed in fondant and have great attention (and patience) to details, so I thought I'd try and play to my strengths.

smoke king

Banned