NCT Member Spotlight: LeoLady

Lefty

Yank
Tell us a little about yourself - your family or household, kids, pets, occupation, etc.

I am the proud auntie of two wonderful nieces. One is working on her doctorate on an academic fellowship. The other is a honor roll high school student and cheerleader. I have a beautiful black arabian mare named Ashen; and a white, black, and ginger calico kitty named Calico.

What part of the world do you live in?

Kansas

How did you find the NCT community?

I was pmed by a member of another board.

Do you have any hobbies besides cooking?

I collect cooking equipment, sew, do crafts including rug braiding, read, and volunteer twice a month at the senior retirement home nearby.

If you could choose any profession or occupation, what would it be and why?

I am a retired social worker and I would not have it any other way.

How and why did you choose your Username? What does it mean?

I am a leo, a lady, and a former social worker.

What is a typical day like for you?

I generally have a project waiting for me everyday, whether it is cooking, sewing, or whatever.

What accomplishment are you most proud of?

My work with abused/neglected children.

Give us 5 words that describe you.

Kind, caring, creative, intelligent, and loyal.

Name 5 things that would be on your "bucket list".

Create and teach in a program for kids that teaches life skills like cooking, sewing, gardening.

Assist my nieces to become the best women they can be.

Contribute to my community.

Help to heal my significant other.

Make a positive difference in the world.

Name 5 things you can't live without.

My 30's chrome model G KA mixers
My vita mix 4000 blenders
My robot coupe commercial food processors
My vintage maple butcher block table
My crown american 6 burner, 2 oven gas range

Who is your role model and why?

Edna Lewis. Because she was the absolute essence of a traditional black chef.