Pressure cooker questions

joec

Gold Site Supporter
OK guys my new Fagor 7 piece pressure cooker set arrives today and I'm looking for some tips. I've never used one before myself but have been soaking some large white navy beans over night and have a nice smoked ham hock to go in the pot with the beans. I going to add some other things such as scallions, onions, carrots and celery as well as some seasoning. I was thinking of doing it in a beef broth. What I need is some suggestions on cooking time, temp or stove setting to get it to pressure and I will be using my induction hub. The induction hub will go from 150 to 475 degrees with 9 settings. It can also be set by temp as well if needed. Thanks for any input.

Attachments

• Fagor 7 pc Pressure Cooker 3.jpg
    Fagor 7 pc Pressure Cooker 3.jpg
    130.6 KB · Views: 216

FryBoy

The heat setting is determined by the pressure in the cooker, as indicated on the pressure cooker itself. It will vary with the amount in the pot, as well as from stove to stove. There's no way to determine that except to stand by the cooker as it comes to pressure, then reduce the heat and watch it careful, turning it up or down until it stabilizes, then checking it again every few minutes. Too little pressure and the food won't be cooked in the allowed time; too much can cause problems, such as causing the emergency release valves to open. Once you get a sense of how your pot works on your stove, it will become easier, but there's no substitute for checking it visually.

As for the length of time, that's going to depend on the ingredients. I suggest you search for some PC recipes for beans or whatever you're cooking. Things go quickly in a PC, so it pays to know what to expect.